Bought my Netbook

So I got the netbook I wanted for college. It was something I found on Amazon for $350. It comes preinstalled with Windows 7 Starter, but there are lot of reviews that claim that it has 100% compatibility with Linux, and even works better with Ubuntu than Windows Starter Edition. This is something thats become very nice in the past few years. Linux users are very vocal, and perhaps there has also been an increasing number of Linux users around the world. Whatever the reason, it has become very easy to find Linux compatible hardware on sites like Amazon and Newegg just by browsing the reviews. If it works with Linux, then somebody is very likely to say this, and often, they will also say how well it works with Linux and what distro they used. The sad truth of the matter is that not all hardware will work with Linux yet, but its now incredibly easy to find out if something is or not.

Anyway, I hope I can get Visual Studios to work on the netbook, just in case school requires me to use a Microsoft Environment. Maybe I should ask my prof about it tomorrow.

2 Comments on “Bought my Netbook”

  1. panhar91 says:

    whats the model of the netbook you bought? i’m asking because i have one too and I think it’s awesome. i got the acer aspire one. I loaded it with ubuntu netbook edition and it ran fine.

  2. jdshu says:

    I got an Asus Eee PC model 1015PEM-PU17. The reviews on amazon say it works great (including multitouch for the trackpad). In my experience, Asus computers tend to work well with Linux. Acer probably does as well. Maybe Taiwanese companies just like to use Linux friendly hardware?


Leave a Reply

